I love grocery shopping!

I’ve found my new favorite cereal. You know that ah-mazing Yogi Tea? Well, Yogi does cereal! Yogi Cereal – Brilliant. I stopped in the Linden Hills Coop on Sunday and spent a good half-hour meandering through the aisles. Did I mention that I L-O-V-E grocery shopping? I’m just fascinated by all the different items. Mmmhmm. It’s a pretty small store but appeared to have everything on my list (note, it was a short list that included: kale, quinoa, oats, nutritional yeast, and whatever impulse items that intrigued me ….Kombucha, maple cheddar cheese, Crofters spread, Yogi cereal). I think I got out of there for maybe $30. Friendly staff, too. I think I might sign for my CSA through them. They are a ‘drop off’ site.

What is CSA, you ask?  Community Supported Agriculture


Here is a blurb from their website:

Thinking about signing up for a CSA but want to learn more about the idea before you commit? Read on.

Over the last 20 years, Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) has become a popular way for consumers to buy local, seasonal food directly from a farmer. Here are the basics: a farmer offers a certain number of “shares” to the public. Typically the share consists of a box of vegetables, but other farm products may be included. Interested consumers purchase a share (aka a “membership” or a “subscription”) and in return receive a box (bag, basket) of seasonal produce each week throughout the farming season.

This arrangement creates several rewards for both the farmer and the consumer. In brief…

Advantages for farmers:

  • Get to spend time marketing the food early in the year, before their 16 hour days in the field begin
  • Receive payment early in the season, which helps with the farm’s cash flow
  • Have an opportunity to get to know the people who eat the food they grow

Advantages for consumers:

  • Eat ultra-fresh food, with all the flavor and vitamin benefits
  • Get exposed to new vegetables and new ways of cooking
  • Usually get to visit the farm at least once a season
  • Find that kids typically favor food from “their” farm – even veggies they’ve never been known to eat
  • Develop a relationship with the farmer who grows their food and learn more about how food is grown

This grocery trip was a pit stop after I picked up a nice new pair of Wonder Unders from Lulu (cha-ching).

I can’t leave this post completely photo-less, so how about a lunch photo opp?

AND …the main event …my sammy!

Sweet + Savory =Loved it!

Question Master: What’s your favorite salty snack? And, have any of y’all done a CSA …can you recommend a good farm?

4 thoughts on “I love grocery shopping!

  1. Glad you have discovered CSA. Another benefit that would have to fall in the “community” category is that the $ spent with a local farm stay in the local economy far more than they would if spent with a chain grocery store… and I’m dying to try Yogi cereal!

  2. CSA sounds very interesting….and I’m a sucker for good cereal so I will be trying it, plus I’ve never been to the Linden Hills Coop so it will give me a reason to check it out. GREAT POST!!

Leave a Reply

