It’s the weekend, baby!

I love weekends. There is something so brilliant about not having to get up and out of the house by 7. I get to make my bed, put in a load of laundry, make my coveted OSAL and relax. Sounds like a pretty edgy life, eh? Watch out.

How about some breakfast eats this week?

If anyone ever wants to compete in a grape eat-off, bring it. I’d have no problem kicking your butt kindly beating you. I think I went through 3 bags this week. Eat up.

So, those were just a side I kind of snacked on all morning every day this week. The main course for breakfast this week: almond butter oats, apple oats, and pumpkin oats. Sounds well-balanced already.

This would be the jar that housed my oatmeal. Hello, economical. There was about 1tbsp left, so I dumped my oats, ground flax, water and milk in and viola, almond butter oats. Thick, creamy, and filled me up until almost 2pm!

Next up, apple oats. I had an apple from last week that was looking a little abandoned on my desk at work. The other couple apples I bought on this grocery trip were average tasting at best, so I thought the flavor of this apple would peak while masked in oatmeal. See below. Looked better than it tasted. Almond butter oats win so far.

I returned to an old favorite, pumpkin oats. Sprinkled with some chia seed and shredded coconut. Tried and true. Tasted great, but I think overall, the **Best Breakfast Award** goes to almond butter oats in a jar.

So let’s change gears for a minute to yoga. I’ve mentioned Yogitoes before, and my healthy obsession with these. If I could have an unlimited supply of these, that would be ideal. They’re a necessity at Corepower. They also set you back $50-60 dollars. Did I mention I practice almost everyday and these yogitoes need to be washed after every use? Do you see where I’m going with this? Lots of laundry to keep up with. [Lots of dirty Lulus, too]

Enter, Gaiam ‘travel yoga mat.’ So this guy has rubber on the back and a towel-like front. Similar enough to Yogitoes for me to test it out. And, at less than $20, I was willing to take the risk. Result? Good enough. I still prefer my Yogitoes, but this helps ease the laundry load frequency. Got it at Marshalls. Holler.

Back to food. How’s this look for a well-balanced lunch? I impressed myself even. Grapes [part of the 3 bag weekly consumption, mmhmm], celery with a side of laughing cow cheese, and a sammy of Ezekiel bread, tempeh, spinach and mustard. D-LISH. This was my first time trying tempeh. Not sold. I didn’t do anything to prepare it, so I need to get creative and give it a fair shot.

Ok, and to round out this post, it wouldn’t be right to not include an IMMERSION BLENDER CREATION. It’s a purple monster!

Insert: Kale, spinach, blueberries, almond milk, protein powder. Topped with my homemade granola. I’m loving these things and enjoying the camouflaged greens.

Ready for my first blog-world confession?!? Are you? Before I hit ‘publish’ I’m going to let you in on a little secret. This ‘giving up meat’ thing for lent? Yeah, not going so well. I think I’ve caved about 4 times already! Whoops. Turns out when I’m with friends and family, that’s what’s for dinner. How is it that giving up alcohol (2009) and coffee (2008) was much easier.

Questions Master: Where are you going on your next vacation? I think I’ll be off to Seattle in May …hoping to travel before then, but that’s the only thing on the books between now and then.

One thought on “It’s the weekend, baby!

  1. Other couple apples I bought on this grocery trip were average tasting at best its has been time with a variety of performance which should be making our program all other likewise prevents soft tissues from becoming rigid and susceptible to injuries during any accident.

Leave a Reply

